POETS IN THE CYBERSPACE

October 13, 2012

For some reason, people have been inviting me to talk about blogging. During the Pagsurat Bikolnon last summer, I was also there to talk about blogging and technology. Last week, I was invited by CBSUA-Calabanga to once again share my view on the use of the cyberspace by poets, particularly, blogging for poets.

My lecture traced the history of publishing in the Bicol region, going back as early as pre-Hispanic times. Then I shared an essay of mine entitled “Cyberpoetry: Words in Battlefields,” published in The Daily Tribune twelve years ago. You see I was among those who first explored publishing opportunities in the cyberspace during those times. I was then asphyxiated by the scarcity of publishing outlets here in the Philippines, so I sent poems to foreign magazines and e-zines.

Anyway, thanks to CBSUA-Calabanga College of Education for inviting me along with Rea Robles and Jusan Misolas. My powerpoint presentation will be forwarded to Jerome Hipolito soon.

2 Responses to “POETS IN THE CYBERSPACE”

Leave a Reply

