What made me attend Su’pay and forget my schedule?

February 6, 2011

I have long resolved that my writing life would be limited to the writing process per se and sending my works for publication or validation. No more of writing groups and gatherings. Reason: No time. My other preoccupations are more primordial, more practical, that I would rather spend more time there. Anyway, really, gone are the days when literature was more of a communal activity. These days, it is better practiced alone. Better to limit human contact, the contract being only between the writer and the publisher/editor/contest directors. The readers are presumed to be just everywhere. No need for extra-effort to reach for them. Life is hard and we can only bear so much.

There is also something about spending long hours with the law and jurisprudence, right after scribbling some stanzas and reading something artistic. I have come to reconcile the two: Law and Poetry. They complement each other, and as I earlier argued, poetry is custom, and custom is law. And law is language.

First I would read the Bible, then the newspapers. Then I would write, and if nothing comes out, I’d reach for a poetry book and read. After half an hour or so, I would read my SCRA. I read the plot of jurisprudence like I read fiction, and I dissect it like I would dissect poetry. Otherwise, I would not enjoy it. And my limited knowledge of the law would not be remedied.

I attended Su’pay because it was there. I attended it because I wanted to deviate from my routine. Little did I know that I would end up with the gatherings that I have been avoiding. I stayed over at Gode Calleja’s place and saw the Kalikasan Press books for sale. He owned said publishing outfit and only had to stop due to health reasons. But then he still keeps copies in his Legazpi house for sale. I even acquired some new titles for my library: Herminio Beltran’s Bayambang, Galian 8 (Santiago, Santos, Zarate, eds.), Jun Cruz Reyes’ Negros, Parikala (Almario, ed.), Caracoa 25 silver Edition (Yuson, Abad, eds.), Ricardo de Ungria’s R+A+D+I+O, Gemino H. Abad’s Poems and Parables, Alex Magno’s Power Without Form, Alfred Yuson’s Dream of Knives, GB Calleja’s Hand to Hand (Mga Buwaya sa Paligid), Cirilo F. Bautista’s Boneyard Breaking, STR Mga Tula ng Digmang Bayan sa Pilipinas, Heartland: Poems from All and Sundry: Poems  (Arnold Molina-Azurin, ed.), and Sa Mga Burak, naglalayaw-layaw (Gode Calleja, ed.).

Now I figured, a once-a-month poetry night would not be too much to ask. Say, every last Saturday of the month from 9-10PM at Wharf Galley here in Naga City. There will be poetry readings, music and what-not. The featured poets will open for the first 30 minutes, then open-mic. We could call it Verses: Writers Galore at Wharf Galley.

I was standing outside of the Wharf Galley bar last night when Jonjie indulged me the idea. There is nothing wrong with a once-a-month poetry night at a nearby bar to compensate for my reclusive self, nothing wrong at all.

4 Responses to “What made me attend Su’pay and forget my schedule?”

  1. Jinjin Melany Chua Heger said

    Hello, I met you at a convention a long time ago. do you have facebook? Let’s reconnect! Thanks.

  2. hagbayon said

    Jinjin!

    Yup I do have an account there. Nice to hear from you again 🙂

    -Jason

  3. hagbayon said

    There was an event again at Legazpi. I sorely missed it.

  4. hagbayon said

    Attended a poetry reading and performance yesterday at Dr. Lilia Realubit’s residence.

    It was a blast.

Leave a Reply

