GAWAD SOC RODRIGO

April 11, 2007

As I said it really came as a surprise because I went there for the Talaang Ginto. But then, I heard my name being called again and so I had to go and find out about it. It was for my poem “Supermaids”, something I wrote late last year and had the chance to read during one of Kaboronyogan’s cultural night here in Bicol (It was in Bob Marlin right there in Magsaysay Ave., Naga City).

The awarding was facilitated by NCCA chief executive Cecile Guidote-Alvarez with the help of the Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino and the family of the late Senator Fancisco “Soc” Rodrigo. And no, the people you see in the picture are not fellow awardees except Camilo Villanueva, Jr to my left. Eros Atalia was also conferred the distinction. This makes us the first batch–I think there will be another one next year.

Leave a Reply

