February 5, 2007

14th Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW)

The National Commission for Culture and Arts (NCCA), the Mindanao Creative Writers Group, Inc., and the Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology’s Office of the Vice Chancellor for Reseach and Extension (OVCRE) are accepting applications from writers to the 14th Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW) to be held on May 21-24, 2007 in Iligan City.

Panelists this year are Rosario Cruz Lucero, Erlinda Kintanar Alburo, Jaime An Lim, Leoncio P. Deriada, Merlie M. Alunan, German V. Gervacio, Steven Patrick C. Fernandez, Victor N. Sugbo and this year’s keynote speaker, the poet Rebecca Añonuevo, 3rd INWW Fellow (1996).

Fifteen (15) slots, five each from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao are available for writing fellowships to the INWW. Applicants are required to submit five poems, or, one short story, or, a one-act play in Filipino, English or in Cebuano, Hiligaynon, Kinaray-a, Waray (with English or Filipino translations) along with the applicant’s biodata, two 2X2 photos and a certification that his/her work is original. For short stories or plays, please submit a hard copy and a CD with the manuscripts encoded in MS Word Unpublished works are preferred.

Writing fellows will be given free board and lodging and a travel allowance. Applications must be postmarked on or before March 30,2007. No applications or manuscripts will be accepted if sent by fax or e-mail. Applicants are also advised to keep copies of their manuscripts since these will not be returned.

Send all applications to the 14th INWW Director, Christine Godinez-Ortega c/o OVCRE, MSU-IIT, Iligan City. For more information call Pat Cruz tels. (063) 3516131; or e-mail: ovcre-mepc@sulat.msuiit.edu.ph / cherlyadlawan@yahoo.com

Dalityapi Unpoemed February 2007

Greetings Bard-Brothers & Sisters:

Check out the latest issue of the Makata at http://www.dalityapi.com/


Makata Issue No.2, February 2007 is now available online featuring the
works of our home-grown and international poets.

by Aurora Antonovic, Christopher Barnes, Luis Cuauhtemoc Berriozabal,
Niña Catherine Calleja, Janet Lynn Davis, Zig Madamba Dulay, Dennis
Espada, CW Hawes, KenMikaze, Phillip Kimpo Jr., Anthony Pabon and Rey
Tamayo Jr.

Send all submissions / contributions for Volume 8 February 2007 issue
to svillafania at yahoo [dot] com and to Jason Chancoco at tarusan22 at
yahoo [dot] com (for Tagalog/Filipino & Bikol poetry). Also accepting
poems written in other Philippine languages: Cebuano, Iluko, Hiligaynon,
Waray,  Kapampangan, Pangasinan, etc.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: