DOCTRINE OF FAIR USE, MR. GATES

October 7, 2006

Recently, Bill Gates and Company (Microsoft) came up with a new OS software called Vista. I learned about it through my Muslim friend right there in Bichara Mall. It’s cheap, only PhP180.

I think of this because my PC got busted. Worm Virus, the experts say. It kept on restarting, to my annoyance. And it was hard not to consider my frequently updated cheap operating system (Microsoft XP Package 1) as part of the problem.

Now, I gathered my courage to open up my CPU and look at my CD-ROM attachments. You see, when I was trying to reinstall my cheap but frequently updated Bill Gates software, it kept on screeching, sounding like a girl being gang-raped. As a result, the OS would not install properly.

Sometimes I dislike IT people who don’t tell you what your machine’s problem really is. They just give you hints and you are expected to spend for it. That is why, as I said, I gathered up my courage and began doing the fixing myself. I thought, if computers are to be the writer’s best friend, I better try my luck in mastering it.

My motivation is my backlog. I have manuscripts to work on and some on-line poetry sections to edit. Not to mention my thesis.

Think of it, my IT for Idiot’s worth of pananoia: Bill Gates and Company finally got to hack their way through my frequently updated cheap OS and marked my computer as number one target for shutdown, sending Trojan horses, donkeys, cats and dogs just to shut me down so that I cannot blog anymore. You know why? It’s because my entries are actually codes, yes, codes. I am actually communicating with some IT terrorists. And Microsoft wise guys singled me out among the enumerable friends of Mindanaoans right there at Bichara Mall.

Now, it has been more than an hour and no shutdown. Even after reformating my hard disk, somehow, I am still expecting some sofware issues.

But for now, before I visit my Muslim friend. I meet with Mr. Grisoft online.  Ta ta.

3 Responses to “DOCTRINE OF FAIR USE, MR. GATES”

  1. maym said

    hi jason!

    in case this thing gets serious, i know a certified computer forensic investigator (whatever that means) who may be able to assist you. what the heck! we might as well give his skills a try.

    regards.

  2. maym said

    hi jason!

    in case that thing gets serious, i know a certified computer forensic investigator (whatever that means) who may be able to assist you. what the heck! we might as well give his skills a try.

    as for paranoia, try shout therapy once in a while. it’s harmless.

    regards.

  3. hagbayon said

    It turned out to be a hardware error. It’s better to be paranoid than sorry and more pananoid.

Leave a Reply

